Who were National Assembly ? Explain the incident in incident in Tennis court? in 3-4 points


Who were National Assembly ? Explain the incident in incident in Tennis court? in 3-4 points

Viva 2 years 2021-08-30T17:43:31+00:00 0

Answers ( )



    On 20 June 1789, the members of the French Third Estate took the Tennis Court Oath (French: Serment du Jeu de Paume), voting “not to separate and to reassemble wherever necessary, until the Constitution of the kingdom is established”. It was a pivotal event in the French Revolution. The Estates-General had been called to address the country’s fiscal and agricultural crisis, but they had become bogged down in issues of representation immediately after convening in May 1789, particularly whether they would vote by order or by head (which would increase the power of the Third Estate, as they outnumbered the other two estates by a large margin).

    Drawing by Jacques-Louis David of the Tennis Court Oath. David later became a deputy in the National Convention in 1793.

    On 17 June, the Third Estate began to call themselves the National Assembly, led by HonorĂ© Gabriel Riqueti, Comte de Mirabeau.[1] On the morning of 20 June, the deputies were shocked to discover that the chamber door was locked and guarded by soldiers. They immediately feared the worst and were anxious that a royal attack was imminent from King Louis XVI, so upon the suggestion of one of their members Joseph-Ignace Guillotin,[2] the deputies congregated in a nearby indoor jeu de paume court [fr] in the Saint-Louis district [fr] of the city of Versailles near the Palace of Versailles. There 576 of the 577 members from the Third Estate took a collective oath “not to separate, and to reassemble wherever circumstances require, until the constitution of the kingdom is established”.[3] The only person who did not join in the oath was Joseph Martin-Dauch from Castelnaudary, who would only execute decisions that were made by the monarch.[4]

Leave an answer


12:4+4*3-6:3 = ? ( )